Skip to content
March 21, 2011 / erostositko

My Fitness Pal

My Fitness Pal helps me count calories. My Fitness Pal tells me how much I should exercise each week. And My Fitness Pal even tracks my progress.

No, I don’t have a new workout buddy (well, kinda). My Fitness Pal is a smartphone app I downloaded earlier this year. But even if you don’t have an iPhone, Droid, or Blackberry, you can still use it to track your calories and workouts on the website: www.myfitnesspal.com.

I chose this app because it’s free, but there are several other fitness apps that charge a one-time or monthly fee. My Fitness Pal seems to work just fine for my goals.

After entering your current weight and target weight, and a few questions about your lifestyle, the program tells you how many calories you should consume per day. After each meal you enter the foods you just ate. If you don’t know how many calories are in a banana, don’t worry because My Fitness Pal has an extensive database of calorie counts, from staple items like milk and bread to packaged foods and restaurant dishes.

It does get a little tricky when you make something from scratch or eat out at a non-chain restaurant, but I do my best to estimate.

My Fitness Pal also knows how many calories are burned when riding a bike for an hour or walking at a medium pace for 30 minutes.

Since I started two months ago, I haven’t missed a day of logging. I think because my phone is almost always with me, I never forget. And I’ve lost the weight I gained over the holidays, which is good, but I’ve got a ways to go. No matter, it’s definitely a good thing to keep track of what I’m eating and hopefully it will encourage me to make better choices.

Leave a Reply

